If you’ve ever tried to delete a bookmark in SocialAdr, you’ve likely noticed this warning message:
The reason we tried to make it absolutely clear in this message that deleted bookmarks could not be recovered is because the process is truly frustrating. The CMS that SocialAdr is built on, Elgg, had bookmarking capabilities already, and when a bookmark was deleted it was gone…permanently. We’ve kept it this way since the very beginning. So if you ever deleted a bookmark and then wanted to add it back, you had to email Support and get us to help you through the process.
Well, we heard your complaints and took action. Now, when you delete a bookmark, you’ll see a less-terrifying warning message, but…they are no longer *really* gone. They get disabled and disappear from your “My Bookmarks” page, and you won’t receive any social submissions on them anymore, but they still exist and can be recovered.
Introducing, the Deleted Bookmarks page!
You’ll see this new sub-menu item by clicking the “Bookmarks” main menu.
The button will attempt to undelete any deleted bookmarks you can see. Alternatively, you can click the button beside each bookmark to undelete only that bookmark. Easy!
Feel free to leave any comments/questions below.
PS. This new functionality is release v.2.732.
Kane Thomas 4:32 pm on July 15, 2012 Permalink
This enhancement seems to be a big hit, we've had a lot fewer customer support requests to recover deleted bookmarks!
MacGizmoGuy 3:01 pm on July 16, 2012 Permalink
Undelete much appreciated! Sometimes I help promote a friend's site or post but don't really want it hanging out and cluttering up my own queue over the long haul. Also glad it's helping to reduce your support requirements so you can focus on implementing the NEXT great addition to SocialAdr. Your system is brilliant, Kane – just head and shoulders above all others. Luv it!